Leading engineering education into the 21st century... The Pacific Southwest Section, a division of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), is a nonprofit organization of individuals, institutions, and companies dedicated to improving all aspects of engineering education.

American Society of Engineering Education


Faculty Awards Report

The Awards Committee included the 1997 award recipients: Chandra Brahma from Fresno State, Bob Stevenson from East Los Angeles College, and Linda Vanasupa from Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo.

Irvin Drew from El Camino College (Vice Chair, Community Colleges) participated in the selection of the Outstanding Community College Educator Award.

The committee received the nominations and excerpts from the Awards Nomination Information pamphlet via U.S. mail. We used e-mail as the primary means of communication. After each committee member reviewed the nominations, he/she e-mailed or (regular mailed) me his/her vote for each category. The single nominee for the DOW Award was not eligible for the award because he was in a field outside of the chemical industry. Kimberly Odgen was selected for Outstanding Teaching Award and Keith Level was selected for the Outstanding Community College Educator Award.

DOW Outstanding New Faculty Award

Nominee Nominator
Mohamed S. Kaseko, UNLV Edward Neumann, UNLV

ASEE-PSW Outstanding Teaching Award

Nominee Nominator
Kimberly Ogden, Univ. of Ariz. Thomas W. Peterson, Univ. of Ariz.
K. Balasubramanian, Cal Poly, SLO J. Kent Butler, Cal Poly, SLO
F. Ernesto Penado, Northern Ariz. Univ. Pamela A. Eibeck, Northern Ariz. Univ.
Brendan O'Toole, UNLV Darrell W. Pepper, UNLV
Raymond Gordon, Cal Poly, SLO James LoCascio, Cal Poly, SLO

ASEE-PSW Outstanding Community College Educator Award

Nominee Nominator
Keith Level, Santa Barbara City College Rich Hart, Cabrillo College
Jim Egan, Ohlone College J. Kent Butler, Cal Poly, SLO

The awards will be presented on March 18, 1998 at the ASEE-PSW Awards Banquet. Submitted by: Stacey Breitenbach, Vice-Chair, Faculty Awards March 17, 1998